Dyslexia is Threatened

Dear All,

I was just looking around and found an article that I found a link to on another blog to be quite a shock. The term Dyslexia has been officially eliminated from the DSM-5. The article Dyslexia is out of DSM-5: Psychiatrists voted Saturday, Dec. 1,2012 was almost a slap in the face. I have had trouble with Dyslexia all my life, on top of that I could barely read until I was  roughly in the fourth grade. However, you can help veto this vote by petitioning with the Yale Center for Dyslexia and Creativity on DSM-5 Committee: Include Dyslexia as a Specific Diagnosis in the DSM-5 Manual. If you have Dyslexia please consider voting to put the term “Dyslexia” back into DSM-5.

Sincerely,

Aaron

1 Comment

Filed under News

One response to “Dyslexia is Threatened

  1. David August

    Very interesting comments. I look forward to following your blog. My generation didn’t think much about learning styles and how differently we all learn when we were growing up, so we can learn a lot from you who has given this a lot of thought. It sounds as if you have worked extra hard. Sometimes hard work leads to good things whether or not it leads to good grades. I hope you are proud of what you have done. In addition to being cursed, as you say, with ADD, you are blessed with intelligence and perseverance.

Leave a comment